Occupying places

Last year the occupying movement came strong, and went quickly. I started following people occupying Nigeria to stop inequality and rise awareness of what’s happening in the country (bombing of churches, mosques, killing people for no reason…) and I was planning a trip to the country to document what was going on. But now, the occupy movements around the world suddenly staggered and stagnated.

What happened? Did people give up because no one cared? Because things did not change fast enough? Personally I like protests. It means that something is happening and people are fighting for something that they believe in. It means that there is still a chance for things to change, and as a friend of mine once said “change is always good. That’s why I always vote left, no matter what they stand for. They always want to change.”

That is what the occupying movements meant to me. A will to change. And I will still go no Nigeria one day, and when I do: I want to see some occupations. Or at least some political street art.

2 thoughts on “Occupying places

  1. Waving a stick around or camping outside buildings in cities doesnt change anything. The only time when things change is when men are prepared to get their hands dirty. Look at history.

  2. The action itself won’t change anything, but it does draw attention and that can lead to things changing. The problem is when everyone scream for attention, only a few can get it.

Leave a comment