A forgotten note (from Mauritania)

The whole taxi wobbled as the heavy trucks passed us on the narrow road. A whisper of fright went through the car and we all prayed.

After half an hour I stuck earphones in my ears and engulfed the senegalese music that Seidou gave me before I left Atar.
Traveling can be a real adventure, it’s up to you yourself to notice when adventure turns into danger. This far I’ve been saved from big accidents but there was that time when another car ran into the taxi I was in. Luckily they generally drive very slowly in Nouakchott so no one was hurt.

But keep it in mind. Whenever you start to feel at home and really safe in a place, that is when you stop being cautious. Sometimes some caution is a good thing.

Leave a Reply

