The prophets baptism

Could you ever imagine the dessert giving birth to something this green?

Could you ever imagine the dessert giving birth to something this green?

Everyone had dressed up and wore their prettiest jewellery. The girls had the traditional henna painted and their hair newly braided. It was the prophets baptism last Wednesday. Generally more celebrated than his birthday. Notice how the girl, second from the left in the very front, has the same hairstyle as me. Closely braided (though my hair is cut) to the left side of her head and then long free hair to the right.

Also I had traditional henna painted and wore a colorful scarf around my head. The rest of me was rather dusty after the walk down through the oasis to see Ahmeds organic farm.

We had couscous with camelmeatĀ  (or only couscous for me) with Zeida and her family for lunch. As always in Mauritania we sat in a big ring and ate from a big plate. I have a big plaster covering my thumb and I still haven’t learnt how to eat with my hand without using my thumb. So Zeida gave me a spoon. I feel so western, in a bad way, when I can’t even eat properly. Anyhow the problem was solved and now we are back in Atar.

Girls dressed up for the Prophets babtism.

Leave a Reply

