Staying safe

Staying safe in a country when two thirds of the neighboring country is occupied by terrorists, is it possible? In a few days I will go to Ouadane to meet with a cooperative who has started an organic farm, using solar panels to get water from the well and water the soil. I met the people last year, and some friends went to the farm to look at the project.

Ouadane is the first city in Adrar from Mali, the north of Mali. Governments in Europe say it’s a very high risk of kidnapping in the area and advise against all travels to the area, even the most necessary travels. Stupid girl to go there, you probably think now. But my friend was there very recently for ten days, and he said they’ve got 3 000 soldiers there now surrounding the city. So it should be safe. “But does Sweden pay for you if you get kidnapped?” he asked later. “I don’t know. I really don’t know.”

kamelbonde There is a Swedish man kidnapped, and I have no idea how our government work with the case. I walked passed the Swedish consulate today though, they were closed. But tomorrow I will go there and let them know I’m in the country, and that I plan to go to Ouadane. Maybe they can’t do anything to help me, but at least they will know I’m there. Better than nothing.

This is the land of sand. The camel farmer is one of many that we passed on our way from Nouadhibou to Nouakchott.

One thought on “Staying safe

Leave a Reply

