Hitching strangers

Of course I was worried about the hitch-hiking. Spanish people are known for not picking up strangers. I could be standing in Malaga for hours, not arriving in Morocco until long after dark.

I stood by some traffic lights, calculating my time as the lights switched between red and green. A sign was counting the seconds between the two. 137 seconds of green light, then I had a 40 seconds break while the pedestrians crossed.

Half an hour I stood there. Counting the seconds, waiting. Then Ana  picked me up.

It was her third time picking up hitchhikers. We stopped by a petrol-station, had a sandwich and some coffee. Her two dogs having a short walk, stretching their long furry legs.

Leave a Reply

