The three conquerors

Two squirrels are running over the branches above my head. Two policemen on horses riding past on the stony path beside me. On my left side: the harbour, beach and the old amphitheatre once built by the Romans. Above me: the wall and castle built by the Arabs.

Last night, while in the car going to the small village outside Malaga where were we walked along the ocean, my host told me how the different conquers of Malaga throughout the years always built their important buildings (cathedral, theatre, castle) above the former one.

Today that gives us a vibrant city with leftovers from three ancient civilizations. A city that gave birth to both Antonio Banderas and Picasso.

Leave a Reply

