Working in the opera

With his dark apricot shirt, the wild hair and thick beard he is the stereotype of how I imagine opera directors. It is mesmerizing to see the directors and actors work together, and as the singers raise their voices so does the hair on my arms. And I am amazed by how many young people that’s working here.

It’s a struggle for perfection where every detail has to sit just right. But despite all tiring repeats, “no no you lift your hand like that” “no turn an inch more to the right” or perfecting the voice with the music. In opera the ideas of what is masculine, feminine, rich or poor become so strong and visible, in parts it is frightening to see. I know very little about opera, and I wonder if there is a classical piece that turn the stereotypes upside down?

Most of the conversation is in Polish but sometimes English or French words finds their way. The singing is in Italian, imagine it’s hard sometimes to understand what is going on.

Yesterday my friend told me this is the 16th best opera in the world, according to an international rank of number of shows, visitors etc. the opera in Warsaw only comes around number 36. It is thanks to a steady team that over and over again set up new shows, sometimes with experienced singers or dancers hired from the outside for a short while. “In Warsaw they always put together a new tram for every show” she said.

This is probably my last post about opera, tomorrow I’m meeting M and A for more photos and then I will probably be headed to Poznan.

Leave a Reply

