Time

Exactly six months ago I had a picnic with a good friend by the Victoria falls in Zimbabwe. It was my 24th birthday, the day bright and hot. We saw a triple rainbow and ran through the warm splash from the falls. I was a little tired but the day was still good. The day before we had been on a rhino-walk on the savannah in Zambia.

One week later I was admitted to the hospital in Bloemfontein, South Africa. The nurse told me I had malaria and the doctor said the infection wasn’t overwhelming and they would save my life. With a extra big and extra strong dose of antibiotics, “because there’s some really heavy stuff out there,” he said talking about the parts of Africa where I had just been.

I just realised how important it is to live life to the fullest every day. It can be ripped away from you at any point in your life. Sitting there by the waterfall with melon, bread and wine we had no idea I had parasites inside my body preparing to strike my organs. Preparing to kill. It is something that left deep wounds in me and I am still trying to heal. Life can be ripped away so easily. So quickly.

Leave a Reply

