He cut his chains.

Yerk. He is about 8 years old and was born into slavery. As a young child he started working as a servant. Every day he would cook, buy meat and rice at the market, buy toys he never got to play with for children who would spit on him. He cleaned and served. The only pay he got was beating.

I met him in March earlier this year. Not long after he had fled from the family, rescued by the organisation who’s leader recently was released from prison where he was tortured for his struggles to free humans living in slavery.
When I met Yerk he had big plans for his future, and it was with joy I read the message from my friend the other day:

I have good news and I want to share it with you. Some days ago I saw Yerk’s, the little former slave,picture. Written under it: he was the first of his class!

He had a really steep hill at the start of his life, but he is climbing it and that is inspirational.

You go Yerk!

Leave a Reply

