The smell of us

As we stretched out our arms to lift up our bags onto the shelf the couple sitting down quickly came to their legs and left. That is how bad we smelled, and not just of sweat but just generally really bad. I’ve never smelt like that on my whole life. As I leaned forward, put my arms on the table and leaned my head towards them I could sense the warm and earthy dirt blended with a more sour odour of old deodorant faded from perspiration. It was bad. Really bad.

In Lyon we found a bathroom, I changed my shirt and washed what I could wash. It felt great! Finally at the chalet we had our own amazing bathtub, but I didn’t bring a towel and could only wash under my arms and my face, but it was enough. The feeling of being fresh was astonishing.

Leave a Reply

