The third note.

I was still in the emergency room. They had already changed the bag with liquid twice and I needed the bathroom urgently. There were two bags over my head, I looked at them. Traced the thin hose into my arm. What am I supposed to do with it? I can’t get up with this stuck to me, I figured. A doctor walked by and I called her. “Doctor, sorry, I need the toilet really bad, but I don’t know what to do with this.” I pointed at the bags hanging from the hooks in the ceiling. She called a nurse for me.
“Can you walk or shall I get a wheelchair?” the nurse asked. “I can stand”, and sure that’s what I thought. I felt strong. A lot stronger than before. So I stood up, legs shaking a little at first and head dizzy, but then stronger. I started walking to the bathroom, holding the sister tight with one hand and the stand she fetched for the dripbags with the other one.

We made it to the bathroom door, but it was busy in there. We stood outside waiting, me holding tight and sister holding me tight, when the floor came a bit too quick towards me. I have fainted before and recognized the milliseconds, I grabbe onto sister tighter and took a deep breathe, breathed out slowly. The door to the bathroom opened and she urged me inside. I halfly fainted (can you halfly faint?) onto the toilet seat and some moments later, as i was done, another sister stuck a wheelchair inside.

“Open your eyes!” she demanded. “Breathe slowly if you feel like fainting, and keep your eyes open!” we were rushing through the corridor, me in the wheelchair and Sister bumping it into every corner. I saw an elevator, thought if I must stare at all the people inside or if I could close my eyes while inside. “Open your eyes!” ok. I stared. A least I think I stared.

We rushed through more corridors, Alex coming close behind. We could have been running around for ten seconds or ten hours, I had lost all track of time. But there was a big bed, and they told me to get into it. The next thing I know some hours had passed and the doctor was standing in front of me. “I have good news and bad news. The bad news is you Do have malaria. The good news is it’s not an Overwhelming infection, we’re gonna get you back onto your feet again.” Well that’s good. I thought. “You’re gonna have to eat 48 tablets,” wow I’m gonna nibble tablets for a long time, “and you’re gonna complete them within three days.” or not. Now with the stomach saving pills and pain reliefs and vitamins and I don’t know what, the amount of tablets multiplied. Two days later I felt to drugged up I hardly knew what my dad’s name was.

Leave a Reply

