Lost in Dar Es Salaam

As I entered the hotel there was a small dead mouse lying by the doorstep. If I believed in omens, this would have been the ultimate bad omen. Lucky for me, I don’t.

I arrived in Dar Es Salaam yesterday, and I fell in love with the city. It’s dirty, full of people, smells and fresh fruit. I found a small local restaurant last night, as I walked inside the staff greeted me with handshakes and hurrays. I got salad and chips, and a bunch of new friends who only spoke Swahili. As I left the resturant half an hour later the one woman took my hand, kissed it and said “I love you”. I kissed her hand back and the whole restaurant burst out in a big applause.

This morning I’ve been walking around for two hours. Right now I’m at an internet cafe, completely lost. I enjoy the chilly air from the fan and getting myself ready to face the city again. I have to find my way back to the hotel, because next to it is the big bus station, and I want to get myself a bus ticket to Zambia before the office close again.

Leave a Reply

