Caught in the desert

With the election-unrest in Senegal, and a war in Mali, I am suddenly a little trapped in Mauritania.
It’s a nice thing though. I’m surrounded by good friends and I’m starting to like it here in Nouakchott. Though, I do miss the desert. The dunes, mountains, the Adrar.

The other day I went with my friend to the doctor (yes, I will be sick for another eight days she told me) and two kids were digging in some garbage bins. They were looking for thrown away food and filled up their yellow buckets. “Donkey-food”, my friend said. The donkeys here eat really everything, from plastic bottles to I-don’t-want-to-know-what-that-is.

I will stay here a couple of weeks longer, and then we’ll see what happens.

One thought on “Caught in the desert

Leave a Reply

