Thinking about this

This whole travel thing. I am close to obsessed with it. I think about it all the time, where can I go? When? For how long? I always want to go somewhere and I never want to go back home. It’s not because I don’t like home, because I really do. I like my flat, flatmate, friends, work and the city I live in. But it’s something about being away from all of that.

Meeting new people tickles along my spine. Constantly putting my self into new, strange or weird situations gives my restless soul some peace. It’s not that I feel I know my hometown, I recently moved here, but I have my home here which means I can come here when ever I want to. It’s my base. My safe zone. My home. There are lots of adventures to live through here, but I can do those tomorrow as well as today. When I get a chance to go away, I simply can’t say no. It’s like turning down a cup of good tea.

Except for one year in South Africa, I’ve lived in Sweden for my whole life. I want to see something more. Because there is so much more out there to discover. When I was a child I dreamed about discovering a new country, a new continent, or as least a remote native tribe that no one know of, living deep inside a rainforest in Africa. I wanted to be like David Livingstone.

As I grew up I had to realize that the world is already “discovered”. Both governments and large companies has photographed the whole surface of earth, religious missionaries has already searched for native tribes and the ones that stayed hidden has been caught by western media and big chunks of land has been forced into different countries with governments. The world is not mysterious anymore, is it?

No one knows very much about earth, the creatures living here and people has lost their grip of life. We don’t know how to live. We don’t know why we live. Humans are searching for the meaning of life every day. Could it be out there? I don’t know, and to be honest I don’t care. I know that I am alive, and I don’t care about there might being a reason for that. I know that there is a huge world out there, it sure has been discovered by others, but not by me.

I want to go out there and discover it for myself. I want to meet the people living on earth and I want to discover the different cultures, thoughts and lives that flourish on our planet. I want to grow and develop, not getting stuck where I am now but continue to understand what made humans forget about the nature. Forget about the life and love, where we come from. I want to understand what made humans loose their touch with our origin. What made us forget? Is there anything that can make us aware again? Is there anything that can give us the ability to feel compassion for our world again?

People are afraid today. If you walk on a street in a city in Sweden and stop to ask a stranger something, lots of people will get a fright and answer you quickly and hurry away from there. It is not because there are lots of crimes here, because there is not. People are insecure, many lack confidence and they get nervous from strangers. Could it be true? Or is it something else behind the strange behaviour?

I want to travel the world and meet the people. Maybe there is a truth somewhere, waiting to be discovered. A truth that every human can take into their heart and use to fulfil their lives.

Simply, I want to travel because I have an insatiable hunger for life and to live. Generally, I don’t like quotes, I believe it’s better to think for oneself instead of letting someone else put their words into your mouth. But Gandhi once said something that made me realize that there is something we all can do. “Be the change you want to see in the world.”

Leave a Reply

